Millennials Instagram Exhibition: Celebrating Young Local Talent in S.A

At the beginning of May I found myself having a bit of rant on Twitter about how difficult it is to be a photographer. Something I’ve aspired to be ever since my father first entrusted me with his analogue Kodak back in the 90s.

In a country where finances are often a concern, and as an only child with my parents in a different country, I often stress about financial stability which makes pursuing a risky career in photography (full-time) a frightening proposition. I treat my photographic obsession as my hobby/part-time job which makes prep time challenging.
My Twitter rant (shamefully a thread) was really aimed at my frustration of having to do maternity, family and professional shoots and events that are great for experience, exposure and building a portfolio but not enough to feed my soul. I really wanted an opportunity to do the kind of photography that made me happy and that could still potentially turn a profit but in order to do that it takes ample time and dedication which is challenging with a full-time job.

Fortunately, just days after my rant, I saw a Facebook post that encouraged young local Instagram photographers to submit four of their best posts to be in the official FotoZA Gallery opening. I took a chance and to my surprise, I was selected – amongst other exceptionally talented instagrammers.

I can’t express enough how important events/opportunities like this are that encourage and breed young talent. This came at a time in my life when I was doubting, not only my talent but my passion.

Cultivating creativity within millennials is more important than ever in a country that’s facing such a vast amount of negativity but what continues to amaze me is that these young talented photographers are able to capture beautiful and poignant images that reflect the times we find ourselves in, in their own unique way.

 

I can’t express enough how important events/opportunities like this are that encourage and breed young talent. This came at a time in my life when I was doubting, not only my talent but my passion.

 

Cultivating creativity within millennials is more important than ever in a country that’s facing such a vast amount of negativity but what continues to amaze me is that these young talented photographers are able to capture beautiful and poignant images that reflect the times we find ourselves in, in their own unique way.

1st of June. Birthday month commenced with attending a photography exhibition and launch. #art remains my heart. 😊

A post shared by Khethiwe T Gumede (@khethiwetg) on

Leave a Reply

