Let me tell you a little story about how we found La Rosa… a few weekends back, a friend and I were talking about where the illusive “husband” can be found? This was followed by a deeply profound conversation around our habits. By habits, I don’t mean scandalous sex, drugs and myprodol, I mean that we don’t get out enough.

Then I remembered a conversation I had with someone recently and their theory about meeting more people (read: husband) is that if you’re not meeting two or more NEW people every week, you need to change your routine and habits. And that got us thinking…

Instead of being sucked into the Netflix vortex, let’s sign up to gym. Instead of ordering in pizza and chugging back a bottle of vino, go out to a new restaurant.

Right, so back a few weeks ago, a friend had mentioned that she’d been to a new Mexican restaurant the night before and she was pretty lus for another round. We made an afternoon of it and spoiled ourselves to something new, exciting and muy caliente! We found ourselves at the new La Rosa Mexican Grille & Tequileria, which after some research turned out to be the winner of the ‘2017 Best in Joburg: BEST NEW RESTAURANT’. 

We started off with a small portion of nachos, cocktails and Corona’s that just led us down the Mexican hole of Burritos.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BgOaIHiFb7p/?hl=en&taken-by=madeinjoho

The sum total of my Mexican cuisine knowledge is quite limited as I’m a complete baby when it comes to spicy food. To explain, Nandos Lemon and Herb is spicy for me. I’ll be resentful of that chicken for days afterward.
So, in the spirit of riskiness, we ordered a Chicken Pibil Burrito and a “wet” Cochinita Supremos. My culinary knowledge totally just exploded when the waiter asked if I wanted a “dry or wet burrito”. Like, dude! Buy me a round of multiple tequilas first… turns out he wasn’t hitting on me (so much for trying new shit) he was asking if I wanted cheese and sauce smothered over my burrito.

THE ANSWER WAS TOTALLY YES! YES TO CHEESE. YES TO SAUCE. YES TO A DAMN WET BURRITO!

 

To end our three course over-indulgent meal we finished strong with Salted Caramel Churros. Be warned though, one plate of Churros could feed a family. Seriously. A FAMILY!

Although we walked away husbandless, it was a super rad day out filled with good company, great food and even better leftovers. If you know of any other gems hiding in-and-around Jozi, let me know in the comments section.

Published by Kirsty Ballard

Hello, I'm Kirsty. A digital-hybrid director, entrepreneur and photographer from Joburg, South Africa.

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

Leave a comment